PDA

View Full Version : Breathing Pastel Dust

dddiam
05-06-2005, 09:20 PM
I am new to the pastel medium, and I absolutely love it.

I am not sensitive to pastel dust. In fact, I never see pastel dust in the air, only on the easel ledge or on the table.

Yet I have heard that pastel dust can be dangerous to breathe in. So I worry a little about the fact that some pigments can be toxic or carcinogenic.

I have never taken any precautions when using pastels. Should I be wearing a dust mask?

Paula Ford
05-06-2005, 10:25 PM
One suggestion...DON'T blow!!

It's up to you if you need a mask. You can get the soft ones in drug stores and they are really nice.

I went through the phase of wearing one but now I don't. Just be careful and vacuum your painting area and easel often and leave a window open if you can.

Lots of other folks around here will give you lots more suggestions on the subject.

WELCOME!!

Paula

BlackFox
05-07-2005, 10:06 PM
A dust mask would be a good idea, as long as you can stand wearing one. I used to have one like the dentists have, but it would shoot hot air into my eyes everytime I breathed. Then I got a nice, heavy-duty one with a vent in it, which works great. I don't like having a mask, but I've worn one ever since I got a whiff of dust, started choking, and couldn't breathe for a really long time (actually was the first time I ever used pastels, and nearly put me off using them entirely).
Another suggestion is vinyl gloves. It protects your fingers from absorbing the dust, and is really helpful when blending on sanded paper :) . Latex works, too, but you can become allergic to them after a while, and they don't blend as well.

Deborah Secor
05-07-2005, 10:40 PM
Hi dddiam.... Welcome to the Pastel Forum.