PDA

View Full Version : Amaryllis WIP commission (2nd oil ever)

ArtsyMom x3
05-05-2005, 09:06 PM
Hello, new to oils, in fact, I've done one whole oil painting and a friend has commissioned me to do THREE for her kitchen, one for her mantle and a watercolor for her bathroom!! Yipee! (I'm a primarily portrait watercolorist by trade, lol, you can see what I've done in the watercolor gallery by looking at my profile and search threads I have started. I have posted just about every painting I've done as a WIP on there.)

Here is #1, picture and beginnings of painting....this is the first of a three painting set for her kitchen. One amaryllis 18 x 24 for the right side of her set of three doors in her kitchen leading to her back patio and a set of two 16 x 16 lillies to be put one above the other on the opposite side of those doors. all with a black background, macro style single flower. Here is my progress....yesterday I did an alizarin crimson underlayer and today did what you see. LOTS more to do. It is not EXACTLY like the photo, but I took liberties when I freehanded the white pencil drawing on the red underlayer. don't look for an exact replica of the photo (which is compliments of the image library, by the way, thank you!) My side of my hand resting on the canvas today wiped away most of the white drawing in the middle!! lol...boy, do I have a lot to learn! And I need me a mal stick (sp).....

thanks for looking!!

(BTW, this is cross posted in the oil forum)

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-May-2005/30384-amaryllis_photo.jpg
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/05-May-2005/30384-Amaryllis_1.jpg

Marysa
05-06-2005, 01:17 AM
It's going to be beautiful. Can't wait to watch it progress. :clap: :clap:

marsva
05-06-2005, 07:23 AM
This looks like it is coming along nicely, just love the great color on the black background. I will enjoy watching the progress. Nice to get such a commission from a freind too!! Good for you. :clap:

gurleygirl