PDA

View Full Version : Me at 53? A self Portrait

marsva
05-03-2005, 08:45 PM
I have never done a self portrait before. The idea of it sorta made me sick!
I am working in oil on canvas
size 8"x12"
My art group, http://www.geocities.com/floydartgroup
was invited to do a self portrait show in a local gallery....sooooo here is my attemt!
First is the photo my sweet son was kind enough to help me with. (okay so this photo ended up last!) :D
Then the burnt sienna and turp undercoat and after the burnt sienna dried , then thalo green and white on all the highlighted areas.... then it goes as it goes. Colors used are flesh color ( I know I cheat) then aliz crim and ultra marine blue for darkes areas. I did thow in some yellow at the high of the highlights. And of course, all mixes with titanium white.
Please throw in your suggestions. I am very new at oils and this is a brand new appoach for me with the green undercoat. I think I really like this!!
Is this okay if I post so many pictures at one time??? I wasn't sure I wanted to post the WIP until I knew it might actually end up looking like me.
I am also painting a still life at the same time for an example for my Senior art class students. I'll spare you that process unless you think you want to see it...it also is with that thalo green undercoat. I start a new painting towmmow with the art group, we have our two day session with the same model in the same pose... my first attempt with oils in this group. I have used pastels up till now, reflected in the paintings in my gallery photos.
http://www.geocities.com/marsva/ArtGallery.html The pastel life drawings reflect a three hour session with the first half hour in gesture drawings.
I am really excited about starting a life drawing tomorrow and having 6 hours with the same pose and model .. should be interesting. I'll take pictures ...should I post them on a web page or can I post them here?
Happy painting everyone! :wave:

Artistanne
05-03-2005, 08:58 PM