PDA

View Full Version : grey scale

*Marina*
04-13-2005, 02:45 PM
When I was browsing through the pastel studio I came across putting a drawing into grey scale? What is the exact purpose of that? What should you pay attention to after you have done that.

Bringer
04-13-2005, 03:23 PM
Hi,

I'm new into pastels so someone else my respond better than me, but I'll try to help.
If you scan a colour pic and turn it to greyscale you will have a better perception of how colours differ in terms of contrast, thus permiting to create a more appealing painting.
I guess this one reason.
Now keep waiting for more replies :D

Regards,

Bringer

*Marina*
04-13-2005, 04:46 PM
Hi Bringer

Thanks for your explanation. It is all so new for me. I only started drawing last year. The same for the computer. Only recently I am getting involved in the computer. Last month I started learning photoshop. A new world opens and it is great.
One of these days I will have the courage to send a drawing to the pastel studio.

Trilby
04-13-2005, 04:56 PM
Please do post your art work. Lots of friendly people here who give support and feedback.
Grey scale: it's all about values. Value is the first thing to think about when choosing a color or choosing a shade if working in black and white. Converting a color photo to greyscale converts it to a value study and helps you to see those values but also to see the design element of the distribution of values--is there a good balance between dark medium and light values for instance. When working from a reference photo, it is sometimes helpful to scan or photograph your art piece, convert to greyscale and compare to the reference photo in greyscale as a way of checking whether you have the values right.
TJ

Artistammy
04-13-2005, 06:06 PM