PDA

View Full Version : Woodcuts...

woodguy
04-12-2005, 02:13 AM
I am new to this forum and new to "printmaking." Normally I am a painter (oils) but in the last couple of weeks I have been looking for new ways of expression. I have a whole lot of wood laying around and some basic carving tools so I thought that attempting some woodcuts might be a good option. My tools and materials are rudimentary....hands for a baren, bristle brush for a brayer, MDF (to start with) as wood and printer paper to capture the image. This is one I just finished, but there are a few more that can be seen at the "Blog" link below. Thanks for any comments on how these are developing. Jim

DLevy
04-12-2005, 03:09 AM
I like this picture and especially the woody feeling of the tree which came out very nice. What size is it? I looked at the link, there are some very nice prints there. My favorite is woodcut#2, the image makes good use of the printing qualities in woodcut. I would like to see it printed more boldly but I see that you use what ever you can come by so I don't now if that is the look you wanted or is that just what came out.
Anyway, welcome to printmaking, I started not long ago and I should warn you as others here warned me then- printmaking is very addictive :evil: :D
Danny

CBHutch
04-12-2005, 07:15 AM
Welcome, Jim! I checked out your blog and you have some great woodcuts going on there! :clap: I can't wait to see what they look like when you get your hands on some printing ink, some nice paper, a brayer, and a baren (the back of a metal or wooden spoon works well too)!!

Cheryl

Printmakerguy
04-12-2005, 08:12 AM
Great work- Especially considering the tools you are using! Goes to show that you dont need to invest a lot to get good results.