PDA

View Full Version : Prints

Tony Perrotta
12-17-2001, 04:09 PM
Hi everybody. Ok some questions please. What is the difference between a mono block and a mone type. Can you give me a quick run down of all the types of printmaking. I am not sure what I want to start with, hopefully something that doesn't require alot of supplies. Till I get back to work, I'll be buying few things.

Thanks Tony

Gisela
12-17-2001, 05:31 PM
A monotype is an original one-of-a-kind print done by applying paint or ink to a non-porous surface (plexiglass, glass, varnished wood, etc.) and then tranferred to paper.
A monoprint is the same thing used along with other printmaking techniques, such as etching or relief printing.

I haven't heard of monoblock, but then I'm pretty new at this. Maybe someone else knows?

Monotype is prolly the cheapest way to get started.

I'll post some more on other types of printmaking later, but gotta get to an artwalk meeting in a few minutes.

Gis

mame
12-17-2001, 06:38 PM
What Gisela said. Sometimes monotype and monoprint are used interchangeably so it does get confusing. Think also one difference between a monotype and a monoprint is sometimes additional prints are pulled from the inked monoprint plate. These are called "ghost" prints. Mono-types are a one shot deal.

Go to Google and search "Printmaking Terms". There are a gazillion sites. And don't forget your local university library. Tons of info there I bet.

sassybird
12-20-2001, 03:59 AM
With the ghost prints that mame spoke of you can do endless things with. I have printed over them with a simple black lino block print, gone in and added things I see in the ghost print with other mediums, combined the ghost with an intaglio print to make a varied edition, etc..... Never throw away a ghost, or for that matter a test print that you may want to use at some later date to experiment with. In doing this though you need to note that use of the image in your editions.

Tony Perrotta