PDA

View Full Version : Some Tips for Creating Glass in CP

Karen Cardinal
04-02-2005, 09:34 PM
I am not an expert at drawing glass, but I thought everyone might find something useful from the things I've learned doing this so far.

Drawing glass is really no different than drawing any other subject. Attention to detail and accurate values are what creates the illusion of shiny glass. There are a couple of tips that I've picked up though that help with that illusion and I'm more than happy to share them with you.

All objects reflect the colors of objects around it and shiny objects even more so. To create clear glass you can't try to draw the glass, but draw the reflections on the glass and the objects inside of or behind the glass. For colored glass you still are drawing the reflections, and surrounding objects, but you will also be "tinting" the area of the glass to create the right color. You have to be aware of highlights, shadows and reflected light and always try to avoid outlining.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Apr-2005/1325-closemarbles.jpg

When drawing glass, the color is unimportant. The illusion depends completely on accurate values. If your colors are perfect but your values are off, the glass won't look like glass. The only time you will worry about getting your colors "right" is when you are showing a reflected object in the glass.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Apr-2005/1325-marblesgrissaile.jpg

It doesn't matter whether you create a grisaille or outline your patterns (like I did for the crystal decanter), it's the contrast of light and dark that will help to create shiny glass.
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/02-Apr-2005/1325-decanter_outline.jpg

If you are drawing on white paper, keep a few bright highlight areas free of any pencil. The best white is simply to let the white of the paper show.