PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: When can i be sure that I'm an Artist and My art is Good?

humbleartist
04-06-2005, 01:35 PM
Hello everyone on WC! I feel so happy, like a person that was on a deserted island for years and sees a ship approaching the shore. In the world of art, I feel lost and alone.

As a child, I loved art (my grandfather was an oil painter) and often used it to express my feelings. I went to H.S. to study illustration but abandoned my talent when got to college (I needed to earn a living and fast).

I have become inspired to start drawing again and love pastels. I have been asked a few times "are you an artist?" I felt shy and insecure with the response "I aspire to be" wishing that I could proudly say "Yes!" I feel like I have to start all over learning all of the basics. Especially with pastel. I'm so happy that I will get a chance to display things that I work on and get honest feedback. I showed another "artist" a pastel potrait I did and she did not give any feeback. A moment later she said, you need to go to school...What the heck does that mean? Whenever I show my art work to "non-artists" they love it. But does that count?

Secondly, I feel like I've lost the expressiveness I had when I was a child because I'm caught up in technique and "perfection" I feel so disempowered in my art. I really don't know if what I do is "good art" especially with the unsupportive reaction I received from that other artist (she could be hatin' though). Please help. I want to be the best artist I was created to be, but there's so much getting in the way. I plan to start taking art classes which may give me some confidence.

Thanks

khourianya
04-06-2005, 01:48 PM
I like to think that through creating art, we are all artists. Our skill and talent levels may vary, but we are artists. If someone asks you if you are an artist - say yes. If you are uncomfortable with saying that - then just say that you enjoy creating art.