PDA

View Full Version : Packard grass demo.

gbritnell
02-17-2005, 08:25 PM
This is for everyone who has asked along the way. I've never done this before so I hope it turns out O.K. Here goes.
In pictures 1,2&3 I have started with a wash of Apple Green. In the distance apply the color using light pressure with small vertical strokes. As you come foreward slowly increase the pressure and make the vertical strokes a little longer. Don't worry about the line that forms where the strokes overlap because the later washes will blend this out. As you approach the nearest foreground tilt the strokes left and right randomly as this will make the grass look more natural. Next lay a wash of Grass Green over the first using the same technique. Stagger the rows so that they overlap and start to change the grass to a green color. Remember to keep everything light as you can always go back and darken everything.

gbritnell
02-17-2005, 08:31 PM
Pictures 4&5 are where I started to lay in some shadow areas under the car and from the trees that are out of the picture on the right. I started by using Dark Green in these areas to give me reference of how dark I will need to apply the subsequent layers.
In picture 6 put down a layer of Celadon Green to start making the distant area a little smoother. You will notice a lighter band running between the two cars. At this point I am trying to give the grass a little variety to break up the large area.

gbritnell
02-17-2005, 08:37 PM