PDA

View Full Version : Wood or Lino

Tony Perrotta
12-13-2001, 02:27 PM
Hi all, I am looking foward to trying a print soon I am going to but the tools soon. What would be the easiest to do cut wood or lino. I'll probably try something linear and abstract the first time so I want to cut fairly detailed. Also when cutting if I want to keep my lines thin do I have to cut them to a point at the top of my surface. I have not done a lino since grade school(along time ago). As far as pressing how can I do it without a press I was thing of making one out of wood and a hydraulic jack which wood be fairly simple for me as I worked as a truck mechanic for 18 yrs. What do you think am I getting to complex for a beginner, I was looking at the prices of those presses, man o man you better press everyday to get your moneys worth out of them. I know you gals will have my answers.

Regards Tony

timelady
12-13-2001, 06:04 PM
First - have a quick read through the hand-pulled print lesson thread. You can easily take prints by hand with no press. No problem. :) I just use the palm of my hand, or you can use a japanese baren (bamboo thingie you can get at an art store) or a back of a spoon or anything that you feels gives you good pressure.

I would recommend lino to start simply because it's easier to carve. Wood is more complicated because there are grains to consider. Start with lino and experiment with the different size and shape nibs in the tool to get different qualities of line, etc.

You can get fine lines but you might need to buy some good quality lino for that - cheap stuff will tend to crumble and break easily (I use cheap stuff because I'm mainly doing one-off prints or other stuff with my carving - not actually runs of prints so they don't need to last). Japanese lino is wonderful - very soft and easy to cut and more rubbery all the way through, so more sturdy. It's blue or green over here, not sure if it's easily available in the US.

Tina.

Gisela
12-13-2001, 08:48 PM