PDA

View Full Version : how do get through burn out?

MsLilypond
03-25-2005, 02:09 PM
What is your advice for getting through burn-out? I'm not talking about an artists block. I have lots of ideas, just no desire to do them. I've been doing little thumbnails & writing notes, so when I get thru this creative slump I have stuff to work on.

I've tried to switch back and forth in different medias (sculpting, acrylic, watercolor, & colored pencil) and that hasn't helped like it usually does.

I think partially my job may be contributing to the burn out, I am a designer in a small sign shop, so most of my creative juice if you will gets used at work, by the time I get home I just don't want to do anything arty.

I am going back to college in the fall to get a certificate to become a pharmaceutical technician. I'm hoping once I am away from the graphic design field, I'll want to do art at home.

Anyone else have this happen to them? How did you cope?

Rose Queen
03-25-2005, 02:31 PM
This doesn't sound very helpful, I'm afraid, but sometimes, you just need to let the creative well refill itself. There's a lot of stuff going on in your life right now that you need to pay attention to, so keep making your notes and you'll have plenty to work on when the inspiration level rises in the well. C'mon over to the Creativity forum and hang out with fellow sufferers -- it can't hurt!

watercolor girl
03-25-2005, 04:57 PM