PDA

View Full Version : What type to start with

MissMouse
12-11-2001, 07:04 PM
I have never used pastels and did not know there were so many types to choose from - where does one start? Should I get a mixture How about oil pastels?

sajemak
12-11-2001, 07:39 PM
Hi Missmouse!

I have only worked with oil pastels once, and then earlier this year, I tried soft pastels......Loved those! I haven't had an opportunity to do any more with the soft pastels yet, but it was fun to work with! Get some!:D

Sincerely,
Samantha

snakum
12-11-2001, 11:45 PM
Hi Mouse,

Two months ago I was in your shoes ... and being the logical, ultra-prepared, analytical engineering-type ... I read everything I could get my hands on and talked to anyone who'd talk to me before I bought so much as a single stick of anything. I drove myself and those around me crazy, but I learned alot and am prepared to share ...

For a complete beginner (I don't know what your previous experience is) I recommend a set of CrayPas Junior Oil Pastels at around $6.00 for a 50-color set and a set of Alphacolor student-grade soft pastels at around $20 for 48 pieces. Both have enough colors to start with (there's an advantage to learning mixing anyway, I'm sure) and the price is low enough that you're not out much if you discover you hate pastels. About oil pastels ... I love them. I probably use my cheap, student-grade oil pastels more than anything else I have. I've talked with some people who are intimidated by them but I caught on quicker with these than I did with softies. They're not as brilliant and colorful but you can really cake 'em on and and you don't have to mess with fixative (which I hate). It's just a very different medium.