PDA

View Full Version : second Spring WIP

Kitty Wallis
03-09-2005, 01:36 PM
I'm not real happy with this, I think I missed the experience by a little. Here is the photo of the site, the underpainting and the finished piece.

18x24

Piper Ballou
03-09-2005, 01:48 PM
Kitty- I really like it. Did you use watercolors for the underpainting. That is something I have not tried yet, guess I need to get brave,.
I really love the colors. Fresh looking
Piper

Kitty Wallis
03-09-2005, 01:53 PM
Thanks for commenting, Piper. Now that you've said that it looks a little better to me. :)

Kathryn Day
03-09-2005, 02:07 PM
Hi Kitty, I like this one, but it doesn't grab me like the first one. I am afraid I can't put it into words why. I opened them both up on the same screen and the only thing that I see is the second one is a more close up view and the first has more distance, more space? I always feel a little intimidated saying what I see, since I am just learning to really see in an artistic way.

Kitty Wallis
03-09-2005, 02:54 PM
Thanks Katy, I see what you mean. I think the second one doesn't have as dynamic a compostition.

Piper, I see I didn't answer your question. I used Createx Pure Pigemtn, a pigment dispersion with no paint body.

haridasa67
03-09-2005, 04:17 PM
I think you've done very well with the composition Kitty. Though I would've put a little more warmth in the painting to balance out, because if you see the photo the top area has a lot of light pinkish sort of warm colours representing the leaves and they get balanced with the greens and blues below them. This is my opinion and I'm just a novice in art but thought to add my 5 cents worth.
Anoop

Khadres
03-09-2005, 04:23 PM