PDA

View Full Version : WIP Sharing a bed

catherina
03-06-2005, 01:50 PM
Hi everybody

I want to paint a picture of my dogs from a photo that I took a while back. I got both of them from the animal welfare and although they are mutts, for me they are just beautiful. :angel:

I made the initial drawing, but decided to change it a bit and would like some advise, before I start. I was thinking of painting the background a grey (not a black and white grey, maybe a warm grey) and the bedding purple -not too dark. The bedding on the photo are too busy :o

How do I paint the shine on the dark dog? He is not black, but a very dark chocolaty brown, but his coat has a beautiful sheen to it. I was thinking of painting a grey grisaille and then do some glasing in brown on top, but as I have never done it before, I don't know if it will do the trick :confused: Any help or advise will be most welcome. :)

(It will be an oil painting 12x6 inches)

catherina
03-09-2005, 04:30 PM
I made a few changes and I'm not sure its for the better :p I am fairly happy the way the yellow dog turned out and started with the dark one, but still not sure how to get the sheen on him.(I want to put a few more glazes on him) The photograph are not the best as it is taken at night in artificial light. I am not happy about the bed but don't know how to fix it. Maybe the colours are not right? Maybe I must throw this one out and start again. I will appreciate any C&C, even if you tell me it is not working. :o

LisaArt
03-10-2005, 01:19 AM
Hi Catherina, It is looking so good. And so cute.
Both dogs look great. YOu know I see already a different shiny colour down his back now. You are on the right track. Youu might want to add some lind seed oil to your glazes he will look more shiny. Also, I find varnishing my oil, make them more lust in colour and sheen.

catherina
03-10-2005, 04:00 AM