PDA

View Full Version : Funny Printmaking Experiences

sassybird
12-09-2001, 05:07 PM
There are always funny aspects to working in printmaking. Share some of the experiences you have had.

About 5 yrs ago I was a student at Southwest Texas State U. The whole campus is built on hills, and of course the art building was on the top of one. There was a road crew working on doing some paving for a new road. A small group of us were sitting eating our lunch and watching them. An idea came to mind about putting our plates under a steam roller to print them out.

The next day we began planning what we wanted to do. All of us had old plates we had struck, so we started putting them together in a patchwork quilt type pattern. We adhered them to a half inch piece of plywood about 8x3' feet. Once we had it covered we got our brayers together along with enough ink to roll the giant plate out.

Earlier we had talked to the construction crew about what we had in mind and the foreman saw no harm in letting his steam roller driver take a pass or so over the plate. So we set up a time and place to do it.

Word got around to other students and of course the profs knew about the project. The day we did the printing was a spectical that brought people coming over to see what was going on.

We inked and wiped the giant plate on our knees, and it took 9 of us to do it in a period of 30 minutes. I guess we looked pretty funny to everyone.

The print was made on a roll of Arches 300lb paper. We all were armed with spritz bottles to moisten the paper. Since we didn't want to lay it on the road or the grass we had people hold it up while we sprayed. In after thought I wish we had used water colored with ink to spray the paper. That would have given us a really psychedelic feel. But, as we hoped the print came out beautifully, and we had a great time doing that project. Each and everyone of us were given A's for the semester too:D

Gisela
12-09-2001, 05:38 PM
That's a pretty monumental print!