PDA

View Full Version : Agora Gallery in New York .... Urgent Question!

dd50
03-03-2005, 07:09 AM
Morning,

I just saw a post from an artist, in another forum I post to ... she has been offered to show her art in the Agora Art Gallery in New York City. BUT .. they're asking for a representation fee PLUS a 30% commission.

She mentions that it's a 'vanity gallery', that in essense gets the fee up front, and allows you to 'rent' a space.

The fee is $3,000.00 !!!

Have any of you had any experience with this gallery ... if not, what are your opinions of this, and what would you advise her?

I want to leave a post for her .. because "I" think it's a bad deal, but then again ... I'm just beginning to show .. so I'm not sure how much my opinion is worth.

Thanks,
Dee

idylbrush
03-03-2005, 07:40 AM
I think you will find that there are conflicting views on the Agora Gallery. Some think it a vanity gallery and worthless while others find it a venue of value. I believe I have read both sides of this coin in this forum.

Guess it depends on the artist putting up the cash. If they feel it worth while then it is good. If they don't, then maybe they should invest the monies otherwise.

sandge
03-03-2005, 08:27 AM
she has been offered to show her art in the Agora Art Gallery in New York City.
I think you mean that Agora has offered to relieve her of a large sum of money. That is not the same as being 'offered a show' in a non-vanity gallery! ;) :D

Agora do a lot of marketing so it is not a surprise that their name comes up a lot at WetCanvas - a search reveals 32 threads, including this one. Many members here have had the invitation.

The question I would be asking myself is, can I get a return on my investment? If I had a wonderful mailing list and a great track record of independent selling, and thought I could make money on it, then I would likely consider it. But the chances are that, in such circumstances, I would be exhibiting at Agora and similar venues anyway.

:)