PDA

View Full Version : Tinting Gesso or replacing it completely?

JohnnyZap
03-01-2005, 05:23 PM
I'm rather new to oils and have been using an acrylic white gesso for my canvas even though it has already been "primed".

My goal is to have a soft gray or pale green background to flowers I am painting. No texture, just tone down the white background.

Can I tint the white gesso with any of the acrylic paints out there, i.e., Delta, Jo Sonja that normally would be used in tole painting?
Or,
Can I replace the white gesso with the tinted acrylic paint completely?
And,
If I can do this with acrylics, do I need to use artist quality or will the decorative paints be enough.

Thanks in advance for your replies!

rroberts
03-01-2005, 06:03 PM
Hi John and welcome to the oil painting forum.

1. Pre-primed canvases have the minimum amount of gesso required. Adding additional coats is always a good idea. I usually add 2-3, but you may want more if you prefer less canvas texture.

2. You can tint acrylic gesso with any tube acrylic color before applying it to the canvas. I would doubt that it has to be artist-grade especially if you plan to cover it up anyway.

3. I would seriously hesitate to substitute acrylic paint for gesso because there are issues with oils adhering properly to acrylic paints. The gesso, however, is correctly porous enough for adhesion.

If you already have a canvas ready for paint, you could skip the tinted gesso and simply paint an imprimatura of the tint you want. Use lead white or titanium white plus your chosen color to make a tint; thin it with some turps or oil of spike; use a bit of cloth or disposable HandiWipe to spread it on your canvas; wipe away excess to achieve the tint you want. Since you are spreading it thinly, the tint can be stronger than you might think you need.

Hope this helps.
Cheers!

Einion
03-01-2005, 10:18 PM