PDA

View Full Version : new monotype

Gisela
12-06-2001, 04:06 PM
Since I bugged Scott for this forum, I guess I should get things rolling here! :D

When I started learning about printmaking, the idea of doing a monotype seemed kind of silly. I mean, why not just paint the thing on the paper in the first place, right? Wow, was I surprised! The look and texture on the print is nothing like what you get when painting directly. I'm so hooked on this! Printmaking is like the door opened on a whole new world -- so much to learn! :clap:

Here's a monotype I did while WC was down. I did one like this the other day on gray-tinted washi paper. This one is is the same scene done on black Rives paper to give it a night time look.
7 x 10, using monotype inks.

Gisela

Amorphis
12-06-2001, 05:13 PM
Horay, a printmaking forum!

I agree, I didn't really appreciate printmaking until I tried it. I've just taken one first-year printmaking "introductory" course but I really enjoyed it. I'm glad there's finally a forum for this medium!

:)

dnip24
12-06-2001, 05:34 PM
interesting picture

sue ellen
12-06-2001, 07:18 PM
Love the print! it reminds me of lithograph. i really like the emotion of this piece. I am going to have to dig out some old prints and post them !~

~sue ellen

Leaflin
12-06-2001, 07:40 PM
What a great piece for the first post in this forum :)

I took two semesters of printmaking in college (back in the stoneage)

I have forgotten so much, but I do remember what fun it was.
Think I will sit back and relearn.

If you keep the laughter to a dull roar I'll go dig some up :D

sassybird
12-07-2001, 02:00 AM
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh, this is a nice enhancement of the image I saw in the alternative forum. Gisela, I do believe you have bug :D I want to see more!!!!!!

This night theme is really great for this kind of image. Rives is also a wonderful printmaking paper. I have used it for several years now for my prints. Stonehenge is another good paper for many printmaking techniques.