PDA

View Full Version : Hi, new here, need some suggestions

gouligann
02-11-2005, 10:16 AM
Hi, What a wonderful site wetcanvas is!
I have been dabbling around with acrylics for about 3 years now, and need some suggestions for this painting. I know I need a couple of trees/shrubs added to the right and left edges (too clumped up and too empty on sides)
The main problem I am having is getting the streets to appear wet. I know now is a poor time to fix this problem since I've already done the woman, but when I first did the pavement, it appeared ok until she was done. I have redone the street twice since I painted her, so I know I can repaint the pavement in whatever is suggested. I'll just have to be very careful when I am painting close to her.
All suggestions are welcome.

minihorse
02-11-2005, 04:54 PM
Hi : Very nice job on the clothing folds and shadows. I'm disturbed by the large amount of boring same color pavement and that attention grabbing right angle in the sidewalk. Have you considered cropping off some of the left side? I held a piece of paper against the screen so that the right angle was covered and Bingo! - my attention goes right to the woman, with the remainder of the sidewalk framing her nicely on 2 sides.
Kathi

gouligann
02-11-2005, 05:47 PM