PDA

View Full Version : AB Finish??

dragonbrad
02-02-2005, 01:02 PM
The wife and I were wondering how the aurora borealis finish is applied to glass beads, and/or if we can reproduce it in the glass work. We know from the ab finished beads we have that it can rub off. Has anybody or does anyone know how to get that oil-slick look in the glass beads??
Thanks.......Bradley

BeadBraker
02-02-2005, 01:25 PM
Hi! I am no expert, but the only beads I have seen that have an AB look to them had either:

1) Pixie Dust applied

2) Fumed beads - fumed with silver or gold.

There should be lots of threads here on fuming.....be careful! It can be hazardous!

Nancy B in IL

dragonbrad
02-02-2005, 02:14 PM
Thanks. Yea the only beads I have ever seen are the seed beads and austrian crystals. But thanks I'll dig now that I have a diresction.
....Bradley

Emily
02-02-2005, 02:46 PM
There are chemicals that can be sprayed onto beads to give them an iridescent finish, but they're really, really toxic. From what I've read, to use them you need a specialized spray booth and possibly a death wish.

cghipp
02-02-2005, 02:54 PM
You can use reduction frits or powders to egt the "oil slick" look. Like the AB coatings on crystals, they will wear over time. But not as quickly as the crystals, I don't think.

Courtney

dragonbrad
02-02-2005, 02:54 PM
Yikes, well not that intrested to have a death wish.
Thanks...........Bradley

NYCindy
02-03-2005, 07:17 AM
There is AB finish available from ceramics supply stores - if you fuse glass, usually a stained glass supplier will have them too. They come in teeny tiny bottles.

If you have good, and I mean good ventilation in your studio and your kiln, you paint 2-3 coats of the AB finish on the beads - letting each coat dry before painting on the next. Then you fire to about 1250 or so - remember that the softening point for soft glass is 1080 or so - leave the beads on the mandrels and make sure they're even and not touching anything.