PDA

View Full Version : First Lino

Siobhan
01-26-2005, 01:36 AM
Hello everybody,
This is my first time posting to the printmaking forum. I have been doing watercolour prints for the past while but have always had the itch to try relief printing. I've played around a bit with cutting my own stamps to use in my paintings and cards and finally gathered together the materials to try a lino cut I (is that one word or two?). Although I am generally a technical klutz I thought this might be something I could handle. I hope you don't mind if I post my first attempt because I am as excited as all get out about the whole process and dying to talk to someone about it...all my friends here are painters and potters. Anyway, here it is. I used water based inks and printed it on an etching press.
Thank you .
Siobhan

Sunfilly
01-26-2005, 02:46 AM
Welcome Siobhan,

Lovely Lino, especialy for your first one. Watch out, printmaking can become addictive. Most people start out simple just making cards or stamps, then before they know it, they can't stop carving. :D I'm gls you shared this with us. Can't wait to see more of what you do. I really like the look of flowers with borders, I like the way you went off the sides with the flower too.

Diane Cutter
01-26-2005, 07:25 AM
Siobhan... Welcome to the Printmaking Forum and to Wet Canvas. I so glad you've joined us.

What a lovely print. It has great composition and feeling and is a nice clean pull. I like your use of detail in the stem and leaves. Very effective.

Because we are such a curious group here, I'll go ahead and ask the questions: What size is it? What paper did you use? Inks? What do you think the edition size will be?