GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: portrait of sophie
Year Created: 2005
Medium: Digital
Surface: Paper
Dimension: 8 x 10
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This is my first attempt at corel painter, and my first attempt at an animal. The puppy's left side was in total shadow, so I had to guess on detail.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Please critique harshly. I'm here to learn :)

jerryW
01-21-2005, 09:14 PM
inside the envellope of the dog shape everything is excellent.
however it as if it is all about the dog and nothing to do with anything else.
pure ideation.
you could move it anywhere on any size white surface and it would be the same - perfect but unrelated.

in that way I find it unfinished, to me the edges are the first 4 lines of the composition. some connection besides an imaginary magnetic repulsion might make the comp work.
here is perfect idea and no composition.
I can be no more cruel than that - honestly I tried to sqush your heart ruthlessly - but in a good way - or just off the wall nuts.

Esmeralinda
01-21-2005, 10:19 PM
Now, this put a huge smile one my face. I thought I was going to see a woman. She's beautiful. I do not know anything about your medium so it is difficult for me to comment. But Sophie does stand out. I would adopt her.

Linda :wave:

klamidon
01-22-2005, 01:11 AM
Thanks for your comments. I tried adding a background and I think I like it!

Karen

LisaArt
01-22-2005, 03:41 AM
Hi Karen, I like it too better the background.
I dont know much about corel painter, but thats like wow! I did not think we could use a software like that to produce something that does so much look like a painiting..Pretty neat.
Shes a real cutie pie!

klamidon
01-22-2005, 11:52 AM
thanks for the great comments. I really enjoy painting on the computer (less messy). I'm not sure which I like better now. I can't wait to start another one.

karen

pero lane
01-22-2005, 12:17 PM