PDA

View Full Version : newbie needs help!

Ginnee
11-28-2001, 06:00 PM
Hi everybody

I've just joined Wetcanvas. I'm very interested in art and in painting, but I'm new at it. About a year ago I went and bought all the gear and started playing around doing a few oil paintings, but got frustrated because I know nothing!!

So I gave up and put all the gear away. Now I'm ready to go at it again, but I want to do it properly this time. I'm saving up to go to proper lessons (basic drawing class, then a proper oil painting class). In the meantime I'd like to use this site to try to learn as much as I can about the basics. The first thing I'd like to get my head around is the pallette. Remembering you're talking to someone who knows nothing (!) could you please tell me about warm and cool colours and why are they so? Why is blue a cool colour and yellow a warm colour? This is referred to a lot in everything I read, and I really don't understand it. Values. What are values? I'd really appreciate your help.

With many thanks,
Ginnee:confused:

TPS
11-28-2001, 07:44 PM
Welcome to WC Ginnee. There are many lessons available here that can get you started in the right direction until you can get to those proper classes.

It seems there were recently entire threads discussing the ideas of color value and temperature. Look for them and see the multitude of responses.

Here is my short reply to your question...
There are many properties to color, this is a short and sweet list.
HUE is the color name, such as green or violet
VALUE is the apparent amount of light, is it dark or light
SATURATION (also called intensity or chroma) is the brightness and purity, is it strong and rich or weak and dull