PDA

View Full Version : Fantin Latour Rose

Mikey
01-17-2005, 10:55 AM
I'm kind of new with this, I mean flowers and roses. I'm punching in tonal and colour contrast right now at this local colour stage. I'll probably put down more white on the left.

Any comments please, especially as to methods from flower painters.

Mikey

Gilberte
01-17-2005, 03:00 PM
Good Mikey ! Very good start ... just squint at your flower and look for those triangular shadows in between the petals and on the down petals as well. It'll turn ou fine I think.

Won't be able to check in on your progress until a day or two. PC is going to see a doctor as he's acting strangely these past days ... I'm not addicted you know but I'll miss the WC postings ... :evil:

Mikey
01-17-2005, 04:04 PM
Hey Gilberte, of course you are not addicted to WC and neither am I :evil:

I came across this wonderful website about a beautiful garden, good for quite a few paintings.

Mikey

LisaArt
01-18-2005, 02:23 AM
Hi Mikey, Just wanted to say hi, and wanted to say looking like a bravo start. Like the colours you are laying down.

And you got the best advice from our flower darling Gilberte. She knows her flowers.. :)

Mikey
01-18-2005, 08:11 AM
Thanks for dropping bye Lisa. This one is important to me, because when I asked for permission to use the photos the owner said he'd like to put my paintings alongside the originals on his website. This offer exciting possibilties. We'll have to trust each other for that. The garden is a most beautiful place.

Mikey

Mikey
01-19-2005, 08:44 AM
I'm building up the rose's structure here and the colour is approximate only.

Mikey

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/19-Jan-2005/28043-fantin_rose_2.jpg

LisaArt
01-19-2005, 09:47 AM
Gosh Mikey, thats looking wonderful...I love that pink.
Your colours are really building up. I cant wait to see this finished. BTW, the lucious dark green background is superb and really fitting.