PDA

View Full Version : clay bust

max nelson
11-26-2001, 10:27 PM
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/26-Nov-2001/Joan1.jpg

This is a fired clay piece that started out as a full size bust. Left it wrapped wet too long and it fell apart as I unwrapped one day. I salvaged the face part from the floor and fired it. It was unfinished at the time and quite the worse for smashing on the floor. Its about 2" thick, total height about 2' with base. Base made from a piece of lightweight building material that a friend patented and produced from a mining companies fly ash by-product. I sawed a piece off and 'distressed' to give it an organic look. Mounted with a 3/4 inch piece of rebar bent to connect to back of head. Comments or critques welcome.
Max:)

Yielding
11-26-2001, 10:58 PM
Max…I do like the face, has an focused expression. The base seems way to large and bulky to me. However I do like the look but would scale it down.

wendee
11-27-2001, 04:26 AM
Iam a real novice here...but i really like the face...:D :D

diane555
11-27-2001, 07:18 AM
Hi Max

I really like the look of this piece. Maybe it was meant to have this unfinished look and not the refined look you were originally planning. Sometimes accidents make for the most interesting work. I think sometimes we can get too caught up in the whole 'strive for accurate perfection' thing. I also like the base you used, but can you tell me more about it please. What is fly ash? Nice to see another post from you :D

Have a good day
Di

sandge
11-27-2001, 07:52 AM
I like it - it looks like a found relic. What does the back of the mask look like - is that meant to be seen, or should this one stand against a wall?

max nelson
11-27-2001, 05:51 PM