PDA

View Full Version : Completely Lost

alicemadison
01-07-2005, 07:09 AM
Hi! I am an art student and I have decided to start entering some contests, pretty much because I need a way to make some extra money to keep paying for school! I have hopes in some of my work, but that is all I got. When I read about "slides" and all the info I need to know about the presentation of the artistīs entries I get confused. I do not really know how to do slides, or how should I present my work or SEND IT TO THEM. Should I photograph it and send the pictures?, is there any special way in which I should prepare my illustrations? ( they are all pastels, ink and oil painting/ acrilics) and most important...what do they really mean with slides of my work!!!!. All I have ever done is scan my drawings ( sometimes they are too big for scanning!) and then I print them, but the quality is awful!
Any adivice is wellcome!.

vhere
01-07-2005, 07:24 AM
to do slides you simply buy a slide film for your camera(any photography shop will help and advise you) - it records as a positive image rather than a negative. When you take it for processing have them mounted (I don't know about where you are but this is an option here as some enthusiasts mount their own).

Photograph your work in good natural light and be careful about framing/background etc so that they give a good professional image of your and your work.

AFM159
01-07-2005, 12:15 PM
Hi Alice! :wave:
As they say practice makes perfect.

Your questions will require a somewhat lengthy post and I'm very busy today so I will try and give you a more detailed answer later.

But for now: Welcome to the Illustration Forum!

AFM159
01-10-2005, 01:26 PM
Hi Alice. Here's a more thourough consideration of your questions.

I have hopes in some of my work, but that is all I got.

Believe in yourself and you will be amazed at what you can accomplish! One caveat: always be prepared for setback. Do not let it stop you.