PDA

View Full Version : Studying again?

habondia
12-27-2004, 11:03 AM
Hello all,
I am thinking of going back to university-level art school (different system here in Sweden). It's the art academy, and it is a five-year programme, very intense and very difficult to get in. I already have a university degree from almost ten years ago in a different subject but I now know that I want to dedicate my life to art.

I am wondering if there is anyone here who went back to study art at a later age, and if there is any advice they have? Encouragement welcomed also... :o

Keith Russell
12-27-2004, 12:56 PM
habondia:

I graduated from a juniour college (2-year commercial art program) sixteen years ago, and enrolled in the Kansas City Art Institute (four-year, fully-accredited, fine art degree program) this past semester. So, I'm two decades older than the 'average' student. (I'm 38...)

Advice? Well, I feel that I already have quite an advantage; I've already lived in the 'real world', and so I already know a great deal about how it works. I've exhibited my artwork regionally; I've been accepted to juried shows; I've been published; I've curated shows, and have worked with a variety of artists and artistic styles.

Also--perhaps most importantly--I'm finished with the drinking, drugs, partying, and other nonsense. Many of my fellow students are having to deal with these distractions, in addition to the pressures of their academic and studio classes.

I'm there only to study, to learn, to create art, and earn my degree.

The only other advice I could give comes now that I have a semester of actual school experience behind me.