GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: books and flowers
Year Created: 2004
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 30*24
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
I started out wanting to piant some bright flowers and ended up fairly dissatisfied with the result.The flowers look well flat and there is just too much empty space...
I'm a beginner to this, cannot quite figure out what might make them better... suggestions?

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
I started out wanting to piant some bright flowers and ended up fairly dissatisfied with the result.The flowers look well flat and there is just too much empty space...
I'm a beginner to this, cannot quite figure out what might make them better... suggestions?

Wayne Gaudon
12-14-2004, 11:09 AM
Hi .. it takes time; there is a lot to painting.

This is very general so don't take it letter for letter but it should give you food for thought.

Volume is what you are after. You need to express dimension and that means volume. Look at a cube for example. It has sides and top when viewed from any position over it except directly above it and then it would have only top.

Flowers are the same .. each petal has a side, top, and bottom. In your piece you need to see some (not all) of the tops, sides, and bottoms. Each little dimension you add will give the work more volume and that will give it life.
As well, the lighting will have a direction. That means your flowers will have light on one side and shadow on the other. Light, middle, dark, and reflected values following the direction of the light. Your vase needs the same treatment .. light, middle, dark, and reflected light.