PDA

View Full Version : Equipment/Supply ??'s

Printmakerguy
12-07-2004, 04:26 PM
Ok, a couple of equipment and supply related questions. I hope this is the right area for this :) I am new to all this, and have been posting my work in the gallery for about the past week. All of the work that I have posted so far was done with a set of Windsor-Newton cotman half pans, the No. 6 travel brush that it came with, and a cheap flat brush I picked up at the local Wal-Mart. The idea was to get started on the cheap, see if I liked it, and then decide later if it was worth investing more money in. I know from my experiences in Printmaking that you often get what you pay for, and that it is often well worth investing a bit more at the beginning and getting better supplies.

First, I like the half pans, especially in the travel set- Essential when I am on the ship (I am a merchant marine officer). When I am at home, however, I have the luxury of a permanent studio, so the portability factor is no longer, well, a factor. What, if any, advantages are tube watercolors going to give me? Also, I know that the Cotman line that I am using is pretty much a student grade- Is investing in a better grade of watercolor worthwhile?

On to brushes. I am pretty much only using one brush for most of the work I am doing- a (very) short handled #3 round travel brush that came with the set that I bought. I have been looking at brushes in Dick Blick, and am amazed at the vast number of options. I want to pick up a few more brushes, and don't mind investing a bit more to get a quality brush that will serve me well. What types and sizes are you using?? I am thinking I probably want a bigger round, Perhaps a #8 or a #10, and a flat somewhere in that size range as well. This also brings up the question of hair- Is it worth investing in nice sable brushes? I realize that they are a bit pricey, but they are still a steal when you compare them to how much I spent on my etching press :)