PDA

View Full Version : Warped Hardboard supports

kasunart
12-03-2004, 02:33 PM
I couldn't find much searching this one out, but my question is about the warping of mdf hardboard (masonite type board) and whether you can "unwarp it".
I got 3 of the thickest stuff they sold at Home Depot, on 4 x 8 big sheets, and set them against the wall in my garage. Of course, now they are slightly warped, and it looks like even if I cut them down to small pieces they would still have the curve to them.
Also, on some different but thicker board I'd bought and used before, even though I gessoed all sides really well, it is still slightly curved (and may have been before it was even gessoed.
Any tips on how to treat these situations welcomed! Thanks!
(I'm new to painting on board, its always been canvas.)

Enchanted
12-03-2004, 08:08 PM
I couldn't find much searching this one out, but my question is about the warping of mdf hardboard (masonite type board) and whether you can "unwarp it".
I'm speaking from similar experiences with MDF versus the old "masonite" type of board. I never had any problems like this with the "masonite" types. I've had boards leaning and bowing and they straighten right up when laid flat on the garage floor. NOT SO with the newer MDF boards, I've found. I suppose it has something to do with that MDF designation - medium density - as opposed to the "masonite" which must be high density?! :confused:

And I have no advice for 'un-warping' the MDF. I think if it doesn't "lay down" in a day or two after having been laid flat on the ground, it may need some further coaxing - perhaps a moister environment and heavy weights.

Cochisa
12-03-2004, 10:44 PM
May I ask what kind of saw you use to cut your masonite.?

..I ended up scoring my masonite drawing board when I needed to alter the size to fit my easel. I cut 3 5/8" off the bottom. The first saw was a jig saw...shredded.Then the hack, it shredded the edge too. Next the regular hand saw, same.