PDA

View Full Version : Which is the best value for money digi pen and tablet ?

Destineo
12-03-2004, 09:17 AM
Hi everyone,

For years now I've been thinking of getting myself a digi pen and tablet, but have always been putting it off since I have no idea on which is the best value for money. I'm also not sure if I should go straight for an A4 size tablet (which is way more expensive) or if a smaller one is good enough. I'm not a professional artist, so it is going to be more to satisy my hobby of sketching everywhere. Could someone please give me some advice on sizes, quality and good brands. The only ones I know of are Wacom tablets, but I'd like to make sure of which one I should get.

Thanks,
A born sketcher

lemonbird
12-03-2004, 09:52 AM
Hi!

I have a 4x5 tablet Wacom Intuous II tablet and love it! I bought it used on ebay, so I suggest watching there... you might luck into a great deal like I did.

My opinion on the tablets is that the small one will do just as well as a large tablet. The tablet maps itself out to the screen, and so the 4x5 will be able to easily use all the space on the screen. PLUS... it's not so big that I cannot keep it on my desk. the big ones take up a lot of space.

Now, the Wacom Intuous vs. the Wacom grapphire. The main difference is that on the graphire you get approx 500 levels of pressure sensitiviy. The intuous gets approx 1000 levels. I don't really know if the extra 500 levels will make that much of a difference or not.

the other main difference is the price. ;) the grapphire tablet comes bundled with software (photoshop elements and/or painter classic) and all for right about $99 new.

I recommend the grapphire 4x5 tablet to get started with.

Destineo
12-03-2004, 10:26 AM
Hi April,