PDA

View Full Version : Epiphany....

roachford
12-02-2004, 11:41 AM
Hello,

I'm a newbie on this here forum but I'm looking for a little bit of advice.

I have recently taken up painting as a way of expressing the drive of creation that seems to be locked inside me. I had been becoming very, very frustrated of late as my inspiration and creativity in my music (I write and play) seemed to be drying up and there was little I could do about it.

I was reading a few months ago about painters in the 20th Century and I decided to take my art in a different direction. So I sat, and sketched, and blotted, and painted, and last night I finally put paint to canvass. I expected it to look like....well, not good. And as expected, I had about half the canvas covered, slowly dabbing and stroking the paint around. The oils just didnt seem to be sitting right. Dont ask me why, it just wasnt right. So, I got one of my cleaning cloths, immersed in the paint and started to paint. It was a releasing experience and by the time I was finished with the first layer, I was amazed at the thing that I had created. Not because I think its the best thing around, but I was happy with the image. Happy with the outlet for the energy inside me and with the purity from where it had came.

It's abstract. A family member said that it resembles Rothko's style and as such I'm purposefully avoiding referring or even looking at any of his work as I want my own style to develop and progress as naturally as possible.

The advice I'm looking for is this......

If any of you good folks out there had one piece of advice for a fledgling abstract expressionist, what would it be??

roachford.

jungleX
12-02-2004, 12:05 PM
Hi and welcome!