PDA

View Full Version : Some newbie questions that are maybe dumb....

K12144
11-26-2004, 03:36 AM
I'm pretty bad at watercolor (I paint in oils which is MUCH easier IMO; I'm not very good at that either but considering how bad I am at watercolor, I was surprised at the results I got with oils), but I'd like to try anyway, but realized I have some questions I haven't seen answered in any of my reading. I feel like they're stupid no-brainer questions (which might be why I've never found the answers anywhere), but they seem to me like essential things I need to know before I paint...

I'll probably be using pans for the most part (I like plein aire painting), and I was wondering how you get the excess water out of the pans when you're done painting so you can pack up without it running all over? Back when I was in middle school and had a box of cheap Prang paints I'd take a paper towel and dab the water out until I realized I was losing a lot of paint that way as it soaked into the paper towel. Would I just have to wait until the water evaporates?

Second question is about sketching on the paper first, say with pencil--if watercolor is transparent, how do you keep the sketch from showing through? Mine always have, doesn't seem to matter how lightly I try to sketch....(obviously this is not a problem I have with oils since my sketches are done with a very light gray diluted with mineral spirits to the consistency of watercolor and it is easily covered up by subsequent layers of paint).