Title: Untitled
Year Created: 2004
Medium: Oil
Surface: Canvas
Dimension: 8X11
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
Hi all,
I'm a novice to painting. I'm posting some of my first attempts with oil. Please post suggestions for improvements and comments.
Thank you all for your time.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
Iam a complete novice to painting.Please comment on brushwork and perspective in general and any input on color would be great!
Thanks!

haaf
11-24-2004, 04:21 AM
Hi and welcome to WC.
Your sense for composition and color is there undoubtedly.
Very good work for a novice in oils.

Oil paint can be applied in so many ways and in so many different techniques.....since you are new to the medium I would suggest do some research on the different techniques and what they have to offer, look a lot at art and paint a lot and enjoy yourself.
Caroline;)

LisaArt
11-24-2004, 04:38 AM
Hi and Welcome to WC, thanks for sharing your work
I agree with Caroline. Very good work.
Anxious to see more of your work. I started painting 3 years ago and the more I paint the better they get ;) . You will find lots of good reading material here on WC and advise from some truly talented artists.

Artistanne
11-24-2004, 09:24 AM
Welcome! I agree with Lisa and Caroline, you have a good sense of design. There is something I really like about the feel of the still life with the chair. Also agree that oil has much to offer, don't be afraid to play around and find what works best for you. Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

:wave:

MarkMark
11-24-2004, 09:42 AM
Agreement all round here then. The still life in particular works very well