PDA

View Full Version : Dumb question about resolution and photoshop views

bigblackbox
11-20-2004, 12:40 AM
The answer to this is probably obvious, but I get totally confused. The question: if computer screens have a resolution of 72 ppi (roughly), can you preview what it will look like printed at 300 dpi? Can you preview a higher resolution (300 dpi printed) than what you're viewing the preview on (the monitor, 72 ppi)?

Related to this (I think) is a question about Photoshop viewing options. What do "actual pixels" or "print size" mean? And when you're viewing something at 100% or 50%, percent of what? What is the "real" size of a digital image?

clbaker85
11-20-2004, 05:04 PM
Hi, I have been using photoshop for many years without any formal education, so I hope I can help. There isn't a real way to view higher than 72 ppi, but I have found that you can judge the quality somewhat by going to the navigator and making the image really large. The higher the ppi, the less pixellation you will see. I used to print a sample just to be sure, but after many samples I trust that my images will print good at 300 ppi. To see the image size in inches or pixels, you can go to Image/Image size. I really hope this helps.
CLB

bigblackbox
11-20-2004, 07:39 PM
Thanks CLB, that was helpful.

But I have a dumb follow-up question now.

If you are planning to do large scale print work, how do you set it up in Photoshop (or other programs)? I'm thinking of someone like Barbara Kruger. I'm not sure whether her work is digital, but it could be - and the prints are large - 60x40", or some things look like they cover an entire wall.

Do you set up your Photoshop document to be 60x40" and 300 dpi? I would think this would eat up all the power of most computers, especially if the image is complicated, has lots of layers, etc.

Or do you work at a smaller scale and just have a sense (from experience perhaps) about how it will look when enlarged and printed?

Jin
11-21-2004, 12:48 AM