PDA

View Full Version : digital as part of the painting process

themanda
11-10-2004, 05:24 PM
i've found myself using digital now as a first step toward completing a painting. it's not that i feel digital is any less valid or real as traditional, of course. i was telling a friend of mine the other day that traditional painting, for me, was sort of an extreme sport. :D by trade, i'm a graphic artist, so i live and breathe in terms of undo and layers. but when i'm painting, i can't undo, and i can't change the stacking order, and i can't use hue adjust if something isn't quite working.

but, i've found that A) i still do miss and enjoy working digitally and B) it helps me tremendously to 'sketch' a painting in photoshop before i actually commit it to canvas. it gives me the freedom to undo and adjust the hue/sat if i need to without wasting the time and the money on the canvas until i'm happy with it.

here's a recent one i did in photoshop before i moved it to canvas. the finished product is acrylic on canvas, 24x48. (i love painting big!)

first is the photoshop version, second is the painting.

Yako
11-10-2004, 05:32 PM
I love orange cats, i like this painting! :cat: :cat: Looks like he's having a great time relaxing on the sofa.... :clap: :)

I agree with you it's a good method to try sketching an initial work digitally and then transfer it to a traditional medium. One can make a loooot of changes....do and re-do without wasting materials :) :) :) (which are not usually cheap :( )

Elvira
11-10-2004, 06:09 PM
It is hard to decide which I perfere they are both very good. I love the cat it is so very catty. :clap: :clap: :clap:
Edie

Elainepsq
11-11-2004, 02:26 AM