PDA

View Full Version : Watercolour palettes

Blueskies
11-05-2004, 01:13 PM
Hi all. I've been out of the Wetcanvas loop for so long, that everything looks different!
Lots of changes in my life...including my location,which brings me to the subject.
I've been an oil and acrylic painter for quite awhile, big canvases, big brushes, which needs lots of room, which until these past few months, I've had in spades.
No longer, I'm now in a condo, and there's no studio, and while I love living on the coast where there is no winter, it still gets way too clammy and cold on the balcony to paint outside right now.
I used to do watercolours, but limited myself to the basic palette that the teacher at my classes a few years ago gave me, you know, ultramarine blue,alizarin crimson, lemon yellow, or the cadmiums, and cerulean. Sometimes I played with a bit of burnt sienna, or the earth tones. To be frank, I was bored, and quit watercolour, the colours in oil seemed so much richer.
I need to paint, but there's no room now for big canvases and layers and layers of oils. I 've seen some watercolours lately that has piqued my interest, some stuff in those "Best of Watermedia" books that certainly didn't use MY palette!
I'd like some input from more experienced watercolour painters on what are their favorite palettes, for different things. Any ideas? What is there out there, anyway?
Thanks all
blueskies

Yorky
11-05-2004, 06:40 PM
There's lots of advice on here about sugested pallettes, I suggest you do a search.

I warn you though, there are nearly as many suggested pallettes as painters ;)

I look forward to seeing you posting here.

Doug

laudesan
11-05-2004, 07:01 PM
Palettes (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=78751)

Transparent Palette (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217435&highlight=palette)

Watercolour Handbook.. (http://www.wetcanvas.com/forums/showthread.php?t=191782)

Yorky
11-06-2004, 03:33 AM