PDA

View Full Version : How to file tax return for freelance illustrator

ouch2
11-01-2004, 09:01 PM
Hi, I'm new to the freelance illustration business. I think it will be nice to ask here since most of you are work as freelance as well.
I'm live in Califorina, currently working comission art, work for hire for a publisher and one childern book (I will get the royalty after the book is publish.) Unlike company job with W-2 form at the end of the year, I don't know how to file my income tax return as freelance.

Which form I should file?
What kind of income I should file?
What thing I should aware when I file the tax return?
Should I keep all the receipt when I buy my tool and report it as expense?

Since I don't think I would earn enough to hire an accountant this year, I have to do it myself. :(

Is there any book or website do you guys recommand to take a look?
Thanks

TedDawson
11-02-2004, 09:17 AM
Honestly, your best resource is the IRS website. (http://www.irs.org/) Lots of information, all the forms, and you can even call them with questions.

This topic comes up often in artist forums. There are plenty of folks willing to help and give advice. But none of us are accountants (my wife is, though!). I say anybody who asks an artist for tax advice is really asking for it! :)

Ted

AFM159
11-02-2004, 05:23 PM
Ahmen - Ted!

I'm no expert but here is at least some of what you'll need.

Form 1040 - individual income tax return
Schedule C - profit or loss from business
Schedule SE - self-employment tax for individuals

Mine from last year had those plus another 9-10 forms and schedules, for things like interest and dividends, child and dependent care expenses, underpayment of estimated tax by individuals (oops), retirement contributions, you'll need W-2's and W-9's and on and on, etc, etc...