PDA

View Full Version : Christmas Card

Meldy
11-01-2004, 12:23 PM
Hi! I am going to be cross-posting this in Illustration and Colored Pencil.

I am working on a colored pencil of a wreath for our company’s Christmas card. I am leaving the company logo out of the center, but it is going to be a golden like the type and transparent. This is the second big project that I have been asked to do at my job (the first being an Oil Pastel) and I am really excited about it. I am going to be browsing the forum to get more information, but also wanted your experienced input since I haven’t done a colored pencil since I was a sophomore in college (graduated in 1999) but I know that it will be like getting back on a bicycle (as long as I re-read the manual before getting back on!) And all other comments regarding design and anything else are very much welcomed. I am seasoned at handling criticism and don’t break easily at all.

I will be using Prismacolor pencils and will be working on green paper. The actual size of the wreath alone will be 16” x 16” not including the rest of the composition. I don’t have a ton of questions YET but will be looking into burnishing techniques, how to keep vibrancy of colors on green paper (maybe underlying white first – not even sure what the issue will be until I get a test strip of the actual paper that I will be using), and any and all other techniques that would be applicable to this piece.

This is the mockup that I have created in Photoshop for the approval process. (It was approved last week and I am going shopping for paper and any other supplies later this afternoon.)

Thanks a bunch!!!

TedDawson
11-01-2004, 04:27 PM
Dang, I thought this was the final piece! It's very nice.

I think some could probably argue that the green on green isn't definitive enough, but I like it that way. I don't think I've ever used this word before, but it's very sublime! To make sure, I looked it up:

sub·lime, v. su-'blIm
Function: verb
Latin, to elevate