PDA

View Full Version : Relisting art on ebay

teresasart
11-05-2001, 02:25 PM
Has anyone had any luck relisting pieces on ebay which didn't sell the first time around? If so, do you wait a while, or relist right away? (I think the time limit for relisting free is 30 days???) Also, do you relist with a substantially lower price (to get people to look and to get bids) and then hope that it doesn't stay that low??? Example: I listed an 8 x 10 abstract painting (acrylics on stretched canvas) at 19.99 with no reserve. I was afraid to list it starting at $.01 like some folks, just because I'd hate to see it go for that...less than the cost of the materials even! Thoughts? Suggestions? I'm new to ebay, but not new to selling my work. It's a very different environment, though... the dynamics are completely different from what I'm used to. :confused:

Teresa

PS- as an added thought to this, I also wonder if artists are concerned about past customers (from shows, etc.) seeing the artist's work on ebay at substantially lower prices (lower than the artist's cut were it to sell in a gallery or other venue). Do you feel this hurts your "standing" outside ebay?

timelady
11-05-2001, 03:13 PM
I relist all my items. In fact, most take 3-4 listings before they sell. Sometimes I lower the price a bit (no more than $5). Sometimes I increase it. Sometimes I leave it the same. No method seems to work, although I'd say more things have sold when I increased the price, ironicly! Don't discount your work would be my advice, just relist it at the same price. Or relist it at a low price but add a reserve price. (I don't like reserves personally)

In general many buyers don't look at listings every day. Buyers are looking for a specific kind of art. So it could take a couple of relistings before the buyer who wants your art comes along browsing for a painting or print.