PDA

View Full Version : Blending?

Nitsa
10-24-2004, 02:34 PM
Ok, I am new to pastels and have played around with them a little using my fingers, a rubber blender and a small stubby brush that came in the same blender set...I am now trying a portrait, obviously I don't want to use my clumsy little fingers, the fine point blender works to some extent but the brush just seems to pull the dust back off the paper no matter how softly I try. :(

So, my question is....

What do you use to blend delicately....I'm talking about the facial areas, blushing the cheeks etc?

Thanx for your help!

khourianya
10-24-2004, 02:45 PM
In portraits, I find I use my fingers most for blending and for fine detail areas, I use a colourshaper. I guess the best way to figure out what works for you is to take a scrap piece of paper and experiment a bit.

BTW, I am by no means an expert at portraits. I am working on improving them though, so as I learn more, the techniques I use now are bound to change.

Hopefully one of the portrait experts around here canjump in and give you osme tips on what they do :D

Good luck!

SweetBabyJ
10-24-2004, 03:00 PM
The little rubber thingies (called 'colour shapers') work for very delicate lines, but I gotta tell you, most people DON'T blend, per se; instead, they layer the pastels over and over themselves until the effect appears to be a blended shade.