PDA

View Full Version : My First Painting - Opinions

xxticy007
10-21-2004, 09:47 PM
Well, I finally found the time to sit down for 2 hours and work on my first ever painting. I have had the materials for about a month or so just haven't had the time to enjoy them. I was inspired to paint when I bought a work of art by Osnat for my new home a few weeks ago. Just a warning beforehand, I have NO art experience or training and have no idea what I am doing. I am just trying to have some fun and hopefully learn some stuff that will help me get better over the years. I have already got some great advice in the chat on WetCanvas and will definately get back in there as soon as I can... Well, as promised in chat I would post my first "work" of art and get your comments on it. You're not going to hurt my feeling so feel free to tell me what you think of it. I feel that it is missing somthing, but not sure what. I will start the second painting tomorrow... http://www.greatlakesalliance.com/photopost/uploads/877/1st_Acrylic_Painting_003.jpg

Quiet
10-21-2004, 11:05 PM
*grin* It looks like a good start.

Iíve heard artists say that it takes thirty paintings to master a medium, or that it takes three-hundred hours. . . whatever. Just donít be disheartened if you donít get the results youíre hoping for on the third or fifth try. Play with the medium, have fun, and you will learn and improve.

Iíve got a thread over in the creativity forum for doing short paintings on a regular basis for the purpose of learning. Come join us! The link is in my signature.

Cheers!

jbitzel
10-21-2004, 11:51 PM