PDA

View Full Version : Help! Oil Painter Frustrated with Acrylics

CaishaRose
10-21-2004, 03:43 PM
Hello, everybody.

Years ago, I started painting with acrylics, but in high school, I switched to oils and have been painting exclusively in oils for about six years now, except for a few small acrylic pieces and some decorative painting.

Recently I finished off my portfolio for art school and decided to take a break from oils and mess around with some acrylics for a change of pace. The problem is, I started things yesterday and I'm already frustrated. I thought I'd post my work so far and see if I could get any advice.

Since most of the acrylics I've been using in my side projects through the past few years have been cheap, fluid craft acrylics, I had to pick up some new Liquitex paints. I tried to pick out what I've usually found essential when I use oils or comparable colors, though I'm aware there are vast differences in the properties of the two types of paints. Here's what I'm using:

Titanium White
Cadmium Red Medium Hue
Burnt Sienna
Cadmium Yellow Medium Hue
French Ultramarine
Pthalo Green
Prussian Blue
Hooker's Green Hue Permanent
Ivory Black (sparingly)
And an old tube of Reeves Violet

Here's what I've got so far:

12"x16" on stretched canvas (please excuse the bad photo):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Oct-2004/49326-Alps_WIP.jpg

And here's the reference pic from the Reference Image Library:
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/21-Oct-2004/49326-Cattle_and_Alps.jpg

As you can, see I've had to adjust the image size and proportions a little. I think one of my major problems is the quick drying time of acrylics. I might pull out my old jar of Utrecht Gloss Gel to use as a meduim and retarder, but I think I need more help than that.

Any C&C, suggestions, and/or advice are welcome and appreciated! :D

damar
10-21-2004, 04:11 PM