PDA

View Full Version : Selling images? copyright?

habondia
10-16-2004, 05:37 PM
I haven't been to this forum before, so hello! :wave:

I'm a painter in general, but recently have submitted two drawings to a company looking for illustrations for a game they are producing.

If they want them, what should I expect in terms of their offer? In other words, do companies buy drawings/illustrations from you directly for an agreed amount of money, and then they can reproduce it as much as they want for no additional money? In that case, who has the copyright?
Or, alternatively, do they buy the right to use the images for a certain (lesser) amount, and then give you a percentage of...er...something as they reproduce it in the thousands?

I am really new at this and have no idea what I am doing. Hence turning to wetcanvas for a crash course in "how not to be _____ed over". :wink2:
Thanks in advance!

TedDawson
10-18-2004, 01:55 PM
At this point, I would do a search of the forums using keywords like "copyright," "selling rights," etc. This topic is discussed fairly often and there's good info in the archives.

coolray
10-18-2004, 02:31 PM
habondia,

Hi and welcome to the forum!

I agree with Ted, there are plenty of in depth topics on the subject of copyrights. Also there is a book out there "The artist/Illustrators Market Guide" It will be of big help to you.

For just an overview, Most companies will buy you out with the right to print. It usually is a one time buyout, so read the contract. Oh, yeah, make sure there is a contract. If you want to retain the rights to your image, you must have that in the contract.

There are many businesses that just want your work, and they want all rights to it. So if you are okay with that, then by all means enjoy!

Terry

habondia
10-19-2004, 01:51 AM
Thanks for the responses, I will do a search and check out what the options are. :)

SabZero
10-25-2004, 11:02 AM