PDA

View Full Version : Something other than Auctions?

TPS
10-31-2001, 12:32 AM
This forum is for Internet Sales Strategies. Surely there are more ways to sell on the internet than through auction sites like E-Bay. Does anyone have suggestions for other ways?

I've been getting alot of requests from Art Sites that either want me to subscribe or want to link to my site. Those that seem to be well designed and promote art in a professional manner will get a link from me. However, I've only subscribed to one site (which was a very low annual fee), and it redirects all inquiries to my website. It provides alot of traffic to my site. I also have mini-portfolios at numerous free Art Portals or Directories. What luck have you had with these types of services?

coolray
10-31-2001, 10:16 AM
TPS, I'm kinda new at the internet selling thing, and I was under the same impression about the ebay thing. So I found http://artistnation.com I have yet to sign up, because I have not readied enough paintings or prints to put on the site. But the only fee starts at 5% of each sale. From what I gather the rest is free. The other good thing, I think, is that other artists are there, no SUV's,no Electronics, no Antiques, or misc. junk. Just art!

I am getting ready to post some of my work there as soon as I can get set up. This is a test.:)

timelady
10-31-2001, 10:43 AM
I'd like to find something too. But I'm listed with a bunch of online places and have only sold one piece (through LondonArt.co.uk). I've only sold a handful through my own website - and most of those to eBay customers.

Links are good - I try to exchange links with anyone who asks. I will NOT pay a site to show my work though. Commission is fine, if they want a flat fee I have to wonder why commission isn't good enough? Flat fee gives them no incentive to sell and earn something from the sale itself. Even my "real life" galleries work on commission. (some way too high but that's another topic! :))