PDA

View Full Version : Drying watercolor paintings

jallenaz
10-11-2004, 12:08 AM
I am new to painting and have been doing a little experimenting with watercolors. The class I am taking I am using acrylics to learn to paint, but I would really like to paint in watercolors. One of the things I don't understand is drying a watercolor painting. I like the method of painting on a sheet of 140 or 200 pound watercolor paper after soaking it and then laying it on a board or glass, whatever. Doing a wash, then as it dries, wet on wet painting. Keeping the paper wet as you paint. But when it comes to drying the painting, how is that done. Do you have to use a hair drier and keep flipping the paper over and drying the opposite side as it curls to keep it flat? Or is there a better way.

The above method is something I've come up with from reading books. I don't know if it's the best way. I've read about taping the paper down, but then you lose some of your edges. But I guess it would dry flat. But when you wet it again, does it buckle because the tape is holding the paper?

Thanks for any help,

Jim Allen

Nandie
10-11-2004, 01:07 AM
Hi Jim,

Welcome to the watercolor forum! There's many ways to mount your watercolor paper, but here's what I do, and I mostly use Arches 140 lb paper.