PDA

View Full Version : Piping with acrylics

Tarves57
10-04-2004, 04:15 AM
Hi,
I'm totally new to acrylics (or any other medium for that matter!), and I was wondering what I could use to create a sort of "piping" effect to represent, say, a flower stalk, or round a leaf, and how I would go about it.
Thanks in advance for any help.

Great site this! I've been lurking here for a while and reading all sorts of useful stuff.

Susan

gnu
10-04-2004, 05:45 AM
well that one's easy! Your'e asking a cake decorator! Use a piping bag and nozzle..you'll need some impasto gel or similar to thicken the texture yet make it smooth..(and keep this stuff separate from your food :D:D)I imagine any squeezie bottle (like a mustard one) would do at a pinch..I hear PVA glue works as a medium but I've yet to try it..
you could also try straight from the tube, use an OLD cap of a previous tube, poke a hole in and away you go..

Tarves57
10-04-2004, 05:53 AM
Thanks! that sounds simple enough. (So did painting with acrylics though :D ). I'll have a look in the art shop for impasto gel, thanks.

I've already got a botched sunset which I intend to gesso over - thanks to advice on this forum - and I've quickly moved on to doing an abstract flower picture which is turning out okay except for one thing....... Do you need to leave a space round paintings so that there's enough border to frame afterwards? (Now that must be a REAL beginner's question)

I'm assuming you do need to. Would an inch be wide enough for most purposes?

Susan

gnu
10-04-2004, 06:00 AM
I paint almost exclusively on stretched canvas now, which needs no frame..
If you're talking paper, yes leave (or paint past) a margin..as a guide, for my Coloured pencil work I would leave at least 1 & 1/2" to 2" around or more..
the alternative is to buy canvas on board (so it's rigid and is it's own backing, and allow for the outside edge of about 1/4" to be covered up..then a frame or mount won't cover anything important to your painting.