PDA

View Full Version : Second try at painting a Portrait

Mystfy
10-01-2004, 07:47 AM
This time I thought I would do my middle child. The picture I had is very dark, so I tried to lighten it up a little on the painting side. I was just about to age him, when hubby saw it and wanted it left as it is. They age so fast :eek:

This is my second try at doing a portrait painting. I do sketch, but nothing like this. It is totally differant and I am finding a lot of mistakes as I go and hopefully I am improving lol. I would like to think I am.

His face has been erased about 3 times and redone. I have tried to keep the colours as pure as I could. I am still learning the blending technique. This is only about my 4th effort all up with acrylics. So Im still working out how to use them properly.

Any C&C welcome. I have called this finished, but I am going to do my younger son next, so any ideas on what I can do to improve on this would be greatly appreciated.

The painting isnt as bright as this, the scan really made the red glare, its toned down more than this.

Blessings
L*L
Char

Charlie's Mum
10-01-2004, 09:51 AM
Hi Char,
I'm not a portraitist, so can only comment generally!
He's a lovely little charmer! I think you've caught his look pretty well - but you'll know that better than I! I think this is pretty good!
My only suggestion for future works would be to emphasise the light and shade more - but those with more experience of childrens' portraits may be able to help more. :D

ExpressiveAngie
10-01-2004, 11:16 AM
Char...definite improvement on the first dont ya think? :)

I hope you continue to explore portraiture and I second Maureens advice

"My only suggestion for future works would be to emphasise the light and shade more "

Good job!

Mybubblewall
10-01-2004, 11:28 AM