PDA

View Full Version : Critique needed

TedDawson
09-30-2004, 12:39 AM
There are some problems with this, and I'm running short on figuring out what they are at this point. It's watercolor on hot press. Any thoughts, critiques, suggestions welcome.

Thanks!

http://www.wetcanvas.com/Community/images/30-Sep-2004/36907-kiddiepark.jpg

Leslie_Ann
09-30-2004, 12:49 AM
This is really nice Ted! Glad I caught it before I logged out. My first reactionis that it's so pretty I can't find anything wrong, but if I could spot something it would be that maybe you need a bit more darker tones for more depth. The colours you are using are very similar in tonal quality or maybe it's just the scan?
Anyways, best wait for the experts replies. :) Take care.

AFM159
09-30-2004, 11:54 AM
I'm no expert, but here are my thoughts.

The things that pop out at me the most have to do with the woman, particularly her arms and her feet. The way her hand (that is holding the icecream cone) and forearm are drawn make it seem to be attached to her left arm, or that her right arm is bent in a wrong way. I also have a problem with her feet, and feel that one of them needs to be at a different angle of some sort.

The last thing has to do with composition. Right now, I feel that my eye is lingering at the top of the illustration and doesn't really have a reason to travel around the image. Maybe with some added emphasis or re-arranging you could lead the eye in and around a little better.