PDA

View Full Version : Floral paperweight buttons / floral help request.

Starleens Studio
09-29-2004, 12:47 AM
Good evening, hmmm good morning actually...

Well, the how to make a floral light bulb is starting to come on for me. I have trouble achieving layered florals and was hoping for some tips/tricks from the experts? I also have a problem with rubino oro & striking red petals. Rubino burns as I try to melt the petals flat even when I work high up in the flame. The red striking is more of a color combination mental block thing. What colors do you use in a bead when working red petals?

Thanks in advance for your advice ;)

Here are some paperweight floral buttons that just came out of the kiln tonight. (I am a newbie, please excuse the encasing mess I have going on here :) Any advice on how to improve on them is appreciated.

Emily NZ
09-29-2004, 03:26 AM
I don't have any advice regarding your q?s as I work in boro, but just wanted to say those buttons are really cute! Well done :clap:
Your encasing will improve given time!
Emily

Vangie
09-29-2004, 06:15 AM
Starleen, the symmetry of your flower petals is remarkable! I don't have any advice about Rubino Oro (sorry :confused: ), since I haven't worked with it much. One of the more experienced lampwork artists will have to help you with that one. I just wanted to comment on your awesome artistic ability! :clap:

Blessings,

MegannsMom
09-29-2004, 07:36 AM
Wow! I think that you are doing a FABULOUS job! Personally, I love encased florals so much I would do them all day, have already made tons of them, and must say that I am a bit envious of yours! I would like to see a thicker encasing on those buttons, though. Just a matter of personal taste.....I think I have collected paperweights too long! I too have great difficulty with the layered petals. Yours are MUCH better than mine!